If you have started using a different account and wish to remove the old email account from Outlook, the process is simple.
Note: You must understand that merely removing an Outlook account won’t deactivate your email account. To deactivate, you are suggested to get in touch with the email account provider. An account that is deleted from Outlook can no longer be used to send or receive emails.
Simple Steps to Remove Outlook Account
Below, you can check the simple steps on how to remove an Outlook account (for Outlook 2010, 2013, and 2013).
Step 1: Select ‘File’ (from the main Outlook window). This option can be found in the upper left corner of the screen.
Step 2: You will now have to select the ‘Account Settings’ menu and then choose ‘Account Settings’
|Note: If you are using 2007, go to ‘Tools’ > ‘Account Settings’
Step 3: The next step prompts you to choose the account that you want to delete. Click on ‘Remove’
Step 4: Before you click on the ‘Yes’ option to confirm, the on-screen message will warn you that “all offline cached content for this account will be deleted. This only affects content downloaded and stored on your computer.”
By following the above steps, you can carry out the task of removing an account in Outlook successfully.
Now, let’s learn how to remove a connected account from Outlook.com.
How to Remove a Connected Account from Outlook.com?
You can always remove a connected account from Outlook.com if you don’t wish to keep another account connected to Outlook.com. You need to, however, keep in mind that you can only “remove the connection” between Outlook.com and the other account, not the email account or the messages.
To remove a connected account, follow the steps mentioned underneath.
- Go to “Settings” and click on the “View all Outlook Settings” > Sync Email.
- Check for the ‘Delete’ option under ‘Manage your connected accounts’
- Click on the ‘Save’ option.
- You may now delete email messages from the connected account after removing the account from Outlook.com.
What happens to your email account when you remove a connected account? You can no longer access the account and send emails from that account in Outlook.com
How to Permanently Close Your Outlook.com?
Thinking to close your Outlook.com account permanently? If so, you must close your Microsoft account. Doing this will further ensure all your email and contacts are deleted too. Once deleted, it is not possible to recover your contacts and emails from the Microsoft servers. Also, you will not be able to access Skype, OneDrive, Xbox, and other Microsoft services.
To close your account permanently –
- Go to ‘Close Account’
- Double-check your account to ensure it is yours (it is the account that you want to delete).
- Click ‘Next’, read the list, and select all the checkboxes.
- From the drop-down list, you need to ‘Select a reason’ and select the ‘Mark account for closure’ option.
Before you close your Microsoft Account, be sure that you can’t access any other services or products associated with Microsoft Outlook. It deletes all the services and products including Outlook.com, MSN email accounts, and Hotmail Live, Skype ID and contacts, Xbox Live data and GamerTag, saved OneDrive files, and NuGet.org account.
Note: You can’t delete one service and keep the others.
Need technical assistance? Reach out to Outlook Customer Support!